CSA Season 2014, Week One: Lots of Lettuces and Spanakopita Pizza

CSA season is upon us again! As with seasons before, this first week brought many greens. Our share consisted of something like: green leaf lettuce, red leaf lettuce, kale, bok choy, spinach, mixed greens, green onions, oregano and dill. One of my favorite parts of CSA life is sitting down with your share and allowing menu ideas to form. This week I realized (Grand Rapid’s Festival of the Arts prompted my epiphany) that I haven’t had spanakopita since becoming gf. This is a travesty. So…I set out to make a gf version….which morphed into Spanakopita Pizza.

I realized that I had all of these ingredients hanging out in my fridge, just begging to be able to kalamatianos together.

I realized that I had all of these ingredients hanging out in my fridge, just begging to be able to kalamatianos together.

I began by sauteing onion in butter and tossing in the oregano. IMG_2675   Then I added the cream and allowed it to bubble and thicken. I wisked vigorously at this point, although the picture doesn’t relay that. One shouldn’t underestimate the import of a vigorous wisking. At the very end I cracked an egg into it for good measure. IMG_2676 I sauteed the spinach, kale, and mixed greens with olive oil, salt and garlic. IMG_2678   Then I added the two pan’s contents together, pulsed them in the blender, and added the fresh dill as well as about half a lemon’s worth of juice. IMG_2679   Finally, I spread the mix on a gf pizza crust, crumbled some feta on top and baked it. It’s been a while since I’ve had spanakopita, but the taste was a familiar one….and flooded me with memories of black beaches, mastic and monasteries with icons which had no beginning and no end.

11 thoughts on “CSA Season 2014, Week One: Lots of Lettuces and Spanakopita Pizza

  1. delish! did you put the bok in with the greens mix? I want to make this pizza very soon with all my greens — thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  2. Shelly, I didn’t, but I’m sure you could! you’re very welcome! keep me posted about your cooking adventures as well!

Leave a Reply

