Urban Family Eats Leftovers

Lest anyone begin thinking that urban family dining is an unending bourgeois experience, I thought I would include some leftovers. And because, (let’s be honest) creativity with leftovers is sort of an important life skill (unless you are my friend Will, who can eat mujaddara five days in a row, and not complain, God bless him).

So….you may have noticed in the “Week 10: The Dog Days are Over” post I roasted half a ginormous head of napa cabbage. I actually used only about 1/3 of it…(because I mixed in other greens)….so I had approximately five pounds of roasted napa to attempt to use the following week.

First, I made this….an open-faced grilled cheese sandwhich…

I took the left over warm feta dip (feta, shredded italian cheese blend, mayo, a dab of butter, red pepper, white pepper and black pepper) and spread it on toasted gf sourdough, and broiled it...served it open-faced with the broiled napa and a little spicy mustard...a re-mixed vegetarian reuben. with beer, I didn't even miss the corned cow.

I took the left over warm feta dip (feta, shredded italian cheese blend, mayo, a dab of butter, red pepper, white pepper and black pepper) spread it on toasted gf sourdough, and broiled it. I served it open-faced with the broiled napa and a little spicy mustard…essentially a re-mixed vegetarian reuben… with beer, I didn’t even miss the corned cow.

A few days later, I was in the mood for Asian (I always am)…and decided to combine two of my favorite things: cabbage and noodles. To my dismay, (providence) I realized that I was all out of rice noodles (which means a dim sum trip is in my future, as the dim sum place has the best Asian market in GR) so I used these mung bean noodles given to me by the urban family, for my birthday.
leftover roasted napa, garlic, candied ginger, tamari, siracha and sesame oil

I chopped the leftover roasted napa, and combined it with garlic, candied ginger, tamari, siracha, sesame oil and white pepper. I should have added shiitake’s, but I was famished, and didn’t want to wait for them to reconstitute….next time.

this was shockingly yummy..the mung bean noodles are packed with protein, have a lower glycemic index than rice noodles, and remain soft after refrigeration. I think I've discovered a new go-to.

This was shockingly yummy..the mung bean noodles are packed with protein, have a lower glycemic index than rice noodles, and remain soft after refrigeration. I think I’ve discovered a new go-to.

Additionally, this made a great at-the-beach meal. Due to no meat or dairy products, I didn’t have to be obsessive about temperature control, and the protein-fiber combo kept my friend and I powered well through our day-long sun-worship extravaganza…

we may have been drinking like undergrads on the beach too. when in rome...

We may have been drinking like undergrads on the beach too. We were college roomies…we chalked it up to nostalgia.

You may also remember the Indian Pizza that I made a few posts ago. I had extra toppings, and had used all of my gf pizza crusts, so I decided to make a quesadilla with the leftovers.

gf wrap with Indian Pizza ingredients and some cheese

I used a gf wrap.

I took the curreid cabbage salad (what was left of it, after eating it for several lunches) and added (CSA) arugula and peas.

I took the curried cabbage salad (what was left of it, after eating it for several lunches) and added (CSA) arugula, cashews and  peas. I love peas, and they work with everything Indian.

I had my friend Janalyn over for dinner this past week. She’s one of those kinds of people that won’t give you a judgmental glance in the event that you serve her leftovers for dinner…this is one of her many good qualities….so, I threw nearly all of the veggies that I had in a spring-form pan….

this is a not-as-pretty version of Jeff's vegetable torre....I was able to use CSA eggplant, potato, squash, zucchini, bell pepper, tomato and parsely

The results: A not-as-pretty version of Jeff’s vegetable torte….I was able to use CSA eggplant, potato, squash, zucchini, bell pepper, tomato and parsley. (I added peas and corn as well, but those weren’t from the CSA…and I learned that using a smaller spring-form pan enhances the attractiveness of the torte..will make a note of this for next time.)

the original recipe calls for a crusted parmesan topping....because Janalyn is a vegan, I created a pistachio-nutrional yeast-gr breadcrumb topping.

The original recipe calls for a sprinkle of crusted parmesan….but because Janalyn is a vegan, I created a pistachio-nutritional yeast-gf breadcrumb topping.

Janalyn brought her previously-made-world-famous gingered lemonade and we mixed it with vodka. Something about the vodka made the lemonade last longer….we sipped and we talked. I started thinking about the sorts of friends that it is ok to serve leftover’s to, and the sorts of friends that it is not. Janalyn can handle leftovers, as she can most things in life….she has found this fascinating balance of refusal to thrust her head into the sand matched with a refusal to stop offering grace and mercy. I’m realizing that I could learn a lot from her….and that it’s ok to serve a friend a bad-looking veggie torte from time to time.

IMG_1405

5 thoughts on “Urban Family Eats Leftovers

  1. Pingback: for the love of leftovers (and the people who serve them) | oh.she.cooks

Leave a Reply

