Week 9: CSA as therapy

It’s always surprising to me, no matter what the day has held, the sheer joy I feel as I pull into the Fulton Street Farmer’s market, gather my various eco-and-body-friendly-reusable-mesh-produce holder things, and eagerly strain to read the dilapidated blackboard, our oracle, communicating which treasures are ours for the week. This week, the farm produced: chard, kale, arugula, bitter greens, oregano, garlic, beets, cabbage, green onions, eggplants, broccoli, green pepper, cucumbers, and……our first tomato of the year!

It was at this time, after I gathered them all, headed home, filleted the rainbow out on my table, cracked open a gf beer (New Grist, my favorite….a sad substitute for real beer, but alas…), and turned on NPR, that I realized that I’ve become some weird version of senior citizen who is soothed by NPR, a sub-par beer, and slowly pulling the leaves from kale ribs. It feels like a massage….like therapy…..like the kind of ritual, where, nothing much happens, and you always know how it ends, but that’s ok. My senior self surprised my early 30-something self. This is apparently what I enjoy doing on a week night.

(that's a dirty bulb of garlic plopped into a glass of water)

(that’s a dirty bulb of garlic plopped into a glass of water)

So….we Orthodox folks are currently in the midst of a two week fast, which means many of us are vegan….(I’m vegan most days, but some days, I’m not….example being later today, when I will be at a baseball game….I have every intention of consuming my annual allotment of carcinogens this afternoon whilst cheering for a team I know nothing about, playing a sport I feel highly ambivalent about….but I will be eating a hot dog. Maybe even some fluorescent plasticky-cheese on chips. We only live once, after all.) On Friday, I had two Orthodox friends over for dinner, which provided a wonderful opportunity to use many of our veggies from this week.

this is a cabbage slaw: cabbage, carrots, onion, broccoli, raisins and toasted almonds. In a mustard- (CSA) chive vinaigrette.

this is a cabbage slaw: cabbage, carrots, onion, broccoli, raisins and toasted almonds. In a whole-grain mustard- (CSA) chive vinaigrette.

To start our dinner, we had baba ganoush (our eggplant was transformed) with cucumber, pepper and tomato. Our main course consisted of a wilted salad (chard, kale and arugula) with roasted portobellas, golden beets and onions in a balsamic reduction. And white bean burgers: Garbanzos, yukon gold potato, rice, nutritional yeast and tons of spices.

To start our dinner, we had baba ganoush (our eggplant was wonderfully transformed!) with cucumber, pepper and tomato. Our main course consisted of a wilted salad (chard, kale and arugula) with roasted portobellas, golden beets and onions in a balsamic reduction. And white bean burgers: Garbanzos, yukon gold potato, rice, nutritional yeast and tons of spices.

One of my guests brought the most phenomenal raspberry-infused, gingered lemonade of all time. I could have consumed it by the gallon.

next time, I will request three carafes of this elixir of life

Next time, I will request three carafes of this elixir of life

Well, friends, that’s it for this week. I’m new to the “food blog” world, so bear with me, as I am bad at step-by-step photos, as well as exact recipes. But I will try. Next week I’m having one of my very favorite out-of-town friends over for a Sunday dinner. I look forward to the sort of post that visit will create.

4 thoughts on “Week 9: CSA as therapy

Leave a Reply

