CSA pick up Week 3 – Dan and Rachel

This week our CSA brought us…

1 head of Lettuce
1 head of Bok Choi (The last until fall, better make a stir-fry this week!)
1 bunch of Swiss Chard
White Scallions
Garlic Scapes
1 Purple Kohlrabi
Cilantro  (With the coming heat this might be all we see of it.)
1 bunch of Radishes
1/4lb Spinach

This is a kohlrabi.
710px-Kohlrabi
(Photo courtesy of wikipedia)

To me it is (in-)affectionately referred to as a space turnip, obvious visual reasons.  I say (in-)affectionately because I’ve had somewhat of a testy relationship to kohlrabi in the past 5 years of being in a CSA.  Our second year of CSAs we hit a bumper crop of them that pretty much knocked them out of my favor.  It didn’t help that I really didn’t know what I was doing in cooking them yet.  The following years exacerbated my negative views of the space turnip… it wasn’t so much that I didn’t like them… I just didn’t like cooking them!  They were fine when I was eating them, but I just didn’t develop a good repertoire of recipies for them.  This would result in me eating some of them the same way each time and the rest of the kohlrabi ending up a moldy mess in the fridge.

This year is different.  I hereby resolve to mend my relationship with kohlrabi.  I will seek new and pleasing ways to enjoy the space turnip.  And thanks to Rachel, we’ve now gotten a good start on it.

(A quick note from Rachel:  The kohlrabi is related to cabbage and has a cabbagey flavor, but a crispy apple like texture.  You eat the bulb part of it -and as you can see from the photo above, the bulb is not a root, though it looks like one.)

Simple Sautéed Kohlrabi  (Farmer John’s Cookbook)
2013-06-19 22.17.12
Serves 2 -4

2 medium kohlrabi bulbs, grated
1t salt
1/4 cup butter or light oil
1 medium onion, diced (about 1/2 cup)
1 clove garlic, minced or presssed (about 1/2 t)
2T chopped fresh thyme, chives, or sage

1.  Mix the kohlrabi and salt in a colander and let stand for 30 minutes to drain.
2.  Melt the butter in a medium skillet over medium heat.  Add the onion and sauté until translucent, about 3 minutes.  Add the garlic and sauté for 1 minute more.
3.  Stir in the kohlrabi.  Reduce the heat to low, cover, and cook for 10 minutes.
4.  Increase the heat to medium, uncover the skillet, and cook for 2 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in the fresh herbs.  Let stand for a couple minutes to let the flavors develop.

One thought on “CSA pick up Week 3 – Dan and Rachel

Leave a Reply

